Sports

Jets players have belief in Geno

Geno Smith talking to us yesterday.

After an up and down 2013 season, rookie QB Geno Smith claimed that the confidence in himself made him reduce the level of being afraid and the players like what the QB has brought to the table.

“It started with the confidence in the head coach in me.” Smith said. “Allowing me to have those mistakes and to play through them. Plus the confidence in myself being the same guy everyday not showing any signs of weakness or fear.”

Center Nick Mangold said the young QB has showed signs of toughness throughout the season.                                                                                                            Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 8.51.23 AM

“Geno kept fighting throughout the season.” Mangold said. “The moment he got here, trying to learn, trying to get things done all the way through the season and I think it showed resilience on his part that he was able to handle the adversity because some guys cant.”

WR Jeremy Kerley who has been Geno’s favorite target this season, having a total of 523 yards and 3TDs, had nothing but good things to say about his quarterback.

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 9.22.46 AM  “Towards the end of the season he started maturing in front of everyone.” Kerley said. “He showed consistency, toughness and I’m looking forward to playing with him next year.”

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 9.43.36 AM WR David Nelson who is emerging himself as a dominant WR in the NFL, made a bold statement in regarding Geno’s chance at QB.

“I think he showed that he is ready to be the starting QB for this franchise.” Nelson said. “I think he’s made a strong case for the rest of his career. I’m excited to see what he can do and I’m excited to have a full offseason with him to continue the chemistry that we built.”

Geno Smith understands that the task ahead of him is not easy and understands the work that he has to construct to build success in the future.

“It’s all going to come down to the work that we put in during the offseason.” Geno said. “Im not looking at it as what I did this year going into next year, I have to put the work in over the offseason and I have to prove myself everyday in the offseason.”

Tony Carter

Lead NFL Writer and Reporter

Twitter.com/tonycarternfl

