Sports

Geno silences the critics in his win against the Raiders

image-3 Jets QB Geno Smith bounces back from his recent struggles these past couple of weeks. With his improved performance today, the Jets earned a 37-27 win over the Oakland Raiders and snapped a 3 game loosing streak.

Geno threw his first TD to Jeremy Kerley who returned to the lineup today, after not throwing a TD since week 7.

“Jeremy did a great job going up and making a play.” Geno said. “He got a good release on the ball. There was a few guys who got down there at the end but he snatched the ball out the air and got the TD.” Smith went on. “We had a number of options but he was the guy who I chose to go to and got a great play for us.”

Geno also got a rushing TD and ran for a total of 50 yards.

“Just looking back over the film, seeing those mistakes, I realized that I have to use my legs in the pocket.” Smith said. “I was trying to send out a message to the team to let them know I’m their quarterback.”

Head coach Rex Ryan was pleased with the young Qb’s performance overall.

“Geno was excellent running the ball.” Rex said. “He’s got plenty athleticism.” Rex went on. “He’s a resilient guy,  it was an excellent job on his part and the receivers did a great job getting open.”

After struggling throughout the season and coming up with a big win, Geno basically says confidence has never and will never leave him and it’s important for the team to strive for excellence moving on.

“I just keep working and I’m just being myself.” Smith said. “My confidence and my emotion is never going to change, it’s more important to get a win for this team and this organization.” Geno went on. “I’m not the type of guy thats going to take it easy on myself and feel sorry for myself when things aren’t going well.”

Geno went 16 for 25, had a total of 219 yards, 1 passing TD and 1 rushing TD.

Next week, Geno gets another test since he is going up against a 2nd ranked Panthers defense who have toughened up these last couple of games.

Tony Carter

NFL Lead Writer and Reporter

Twitter.com/tonycarternfl

