Sports

Mark Sanchez wants to stay as a Jet

s

Jets QB Mark Sanchez talked to reporters yesterday after he was     volunteering in a soup kitchen in Mooristown, NJ. He talked the latest on his rehab and his current team status with the Jets.

“Rehab has been going very smoothly.” Sanchez said. “The timetable for my recovery from rehab is going to be about 3-4 months.”

Sanchez is out for the season and was placed on IR with a torn shoulder librium that he injured in week 3 of the preseason game against the Giants.

Mark Sanchez  was asked on if he thinks he will return in a Jets uniform ever again.

“I don’t want to go anywhere else but here. I know I have two years left, and I don’t ever want that to end. I love being a Jet, and I plan on being here for a while.”

Sanchez signed a 5year $54M deal a few seasons ago which means that he has two years left on his contract.

GM John Idzik was asked in a press conference a few weeks ago on the status of Sanchez returning.

“Right now we’re focused on him recovering successfully from rehab.”

If the Jets do decide to get rid of Sanchez, that would hurt them because they would be in a salary cap hole of $13.1M.

Tony Carter

Lead NFL Writer and Reporter

Twitter.com/tonycarternfl

