Sports

Jets considering signing former Texans S Ed Reed

Unknown Former Texans S Ed Reed cleared waivers today and is now a free agent with the Jets considering to sign him.

On Wednesday’s press conference, Jets head coach Rex Ryan admitted to reporters that him and GM John Idzik discussed on signing the 35yr old safety.

“Look, the way I am, so I could say absolutely yes. I would like him on our team. And I’ll say that knowing that you guys know me. I’d like to have Brandon Moore on the team, anyone that bled for me, I want them. If you’ve coached a player, I’m sure you would want that input. So did we talk about it? I think it’s safe to say yes,” Rex Ryan told reporters. (NY Daily News)

The Jets would have to worry about his hip if they were to sign him. Reed is still recovering from his hip surgery and is not really playing like himself. However, Texans sources say that Reed is healthy and has the ability to pass a physical.

The Ed Reed sweepstakes may be very low for the Jets because the Jets division rival, the New England Patriots are looking to sign him as well.

If the Jets sign Reed, it would help Dawan Landry and the rest of the Jets’ secondary because of his ability to shut down receivers when he has to.

Tony Carter

Lead Writer and reporter for NFL

Twitter.com/tonycarternfl

