Sports

Rex Ryan on Dee Milliner: “I believe he will be the best rookie CB by the end of the season”

url

During Wednesday’s press conference, head coach Rex Ryan told the media that he still believes in cornerback Dee Milliner, despite benching him again against the Bengals on Sunday.

The young cornerback has struggled in coverage — he gave up 108 yards plus a touchdown on four receptions against the Bengalson Sunday. However, Rex Ryan thinks that Milliner is learning on the job.

“I feel it. I don’t think there’s any doubt. I see him, I see the intensity, I know how he wants to respond, and then when you watch the tape, it’s just little things right now. Rex said. He wants it, and I think he’s going to get it. I believe that he will be the best rookie cornerback at the end of the season.”

This is a bold statement from Rex, considering that he benched Milliner. Rex also mentioned that despite Dee Milliner’s struggles, he has the tools he needs to get better. “We have great teachers (defensive coordinator Dennis Thurman and staff), and with that I believe he is going to get there.”

It will be interesting to see how Milliner plays out this season, but now he knows that he has someone by his side.

Tony Carter

Twitter: @tonycarternfl

